Big News: The French Culinary Institute

I’m excited to share some big news with anyone who might happen to be reading along: Today is my first day of culinary school at the French Culinary Institute.

I’ve been interested in attending culinary school ever since I completed my undergraduate degree, but it never really seemed like the right time. As a graduate of business but an aspiring journalist, I made the decision to get my master’s in journalism so that I could pursue a career in magazine writing. After I finished my graduate degree in Chicago, I moved to London for a few months to get some work experience at a prominent news agency before moving back to NYC to work at a women’s magazine. After working for a few months, and really enjoying the food content our magazine has, I started secretly looking into culinary school again. Coincidently, I was out to dinner with my family around the same time and, after ordering ink squid pasta with clams, my grandma said something along the lines of “you have such interesting taste, you should go to culinary school.” Really?

That was about all the motivation I needed to dive head first into intense research. I went to open houses for two schools here in NYC, audited a class, and talked to a few of the editors here at the magazine I work for.  Next thing I knew, I was at orientation receiving my uniform and meeting my new classmates.

I’ll be working while I attend school, so I’ll be at work Monday to Friday and in school Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday nights (yes, Saturday nights)! I know I’m gearing up for a busy year, but I couldn’t be more excited about it, and I’m really looking forward to sharing all of my culinary school adventures with you. I hope you’ll read along. 🙂

Leave a Reply

