The Sick Girl in Sanitation Class

In class last night we spent most of the lesson learning about kitchen sanitation and personal hygiene. It’s not necessarily engaging information but, I have to admit, it’s obviously very important to know the information—especially if you’ll be serving the public.

Actually, it kind of made me really paranoid about the practices of the establishments of places that I visit. Shigella (food poisoning from eating something that has somehow come into contact with human you know what) or salmonella (bacteria from mishandled poultry products)? Noo thank you.

If I wasn’t already obsessive about washing my hands, this lesson definitely made me even more of a hand-washing maniac. You might even catch me scoping out the employees at anywhere I frequent. Yikes.

Unfortunately the two nights spent out until 5:30 a.m. last weekend changing season has definitely caught up with me, and I’m feeling pretty under the weather this week. Kind of ironic—the sick girl sitting in the kitchen at school during the sanitation lesson that told us not to be in the kitchen or handle food when you have any kind of illness. Oops. With such a strict attendance policy and so much being taught at each class I just really don’t think it’s smart to miss if you can help it….

After class I managed to fight the fatigue and went out for a drink with three of my new classmates. Even in class I can tell that people are starting to warm up to each other and socialize a bit more, but it was really nice to get to know a few people out of the kitchen.

I have a lot of prep work to do before Saturday’s class (reading and practicing knife skills), but I’m really excited for the lesson. We’ll be making our first dishes: vegetable ragout and a beet and goat cheese salad.  Hopefully I can take a few pictures of the result!

Leave a Reply

